Guest Blogger: Glitter & Pearls

August 5, 2011 § 13 Comments

I am so happy that Lexi from Glitter & Pearls is guest posting for me today! I have always been a huge fan of her adorable blog so please enjoy her post Rocking Pearls below!

I started college a week early, just to attend sorority rush. My mom and I shopped for months for adorable outfits and the perfect white dress (the white dress is vital to rush.) Day one of rush, you could have knocked me over with one fingertip once I learned what a typical sorority girl looked like. I’m small, brunette, and I talk too much. These girls were tanned, blonde, decked in Lily Pullitzer, and all wore pearls. Nobody in Miami wears pearls. Nobody. Liz Taylor wore pearls. My great Aunt wears pearls. Oprah: pearls. Betty Crocker, I assumed, wore pearls. But here were these girls, all in strands of pearls.

Years later, I must admit, the single short length pearl necklace is a bit too Miss America for me, but I have learned to love love the piled on pearls look. I channel Madonna, rather than Grace Kelly. But both women are gorgeous and glamorous. The longer the strand, the better in my book. If I’m going to wear pearls, I’m going to drip in pearls. I’m also a fan of pearls in unexpected places – wrists, waists, hair.

And don’t break the bank on this one – a few cheap strands of pearls draped over a slinky black dress = a classic.

{image a la pinterest}

So many thanks to Molliee for asking me to guest post on her blog. Molliee looks gorgeous in everything and it’s always fun to see what perfect outfits she comes up with. For more on fashion, trends, impractical shoes, home decor, attempts in the kitchen, DIY, and even the big scary future, check out Glitter & Pearls on facebook and twitter and blog lovin’! Follow glitterpearls on Twitterbloglovin

Tagged: , ,

§ 13 Responses to Guest Blogger: Glitter & Pearls

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Guest Blogger: Glitter & Pearls at Twirly Skirts.

meta

