A Little Brit of Fashion Eccentricity: London Style.

June 1, 2011 § 10 Comments

I am so excited to have a fabulous fashion blogger guest posting on Twirly Skirts today. Yesterday I was over at her blog StyleOnTheCouch and was so honored to talk about west coast style. Here she is talking about her British style in NYC.

I’m a little Brit in The Big Apple.  I moved from London to Manhattan in December during the snow blizzards and I’m now experiencing a level of humidity that I usually only experience during summer holidays in Ibiza.  So you see, living in NYC has brought some wardrobe challenges and these are not just related to seasonal change but are also about adapting to New York style….

I feel that New York style is quite uniform.  This is largely “black” and I simply adore this as my wardrobe is very monochromatic, but it is also pragmatic chic; “safer” perhaps.  In London things can get a bit more wacky.  London has a larger population with such a vast cultural and ethnic mix…. I feel like there is more eccentricity and possibility in London than in New York with regards to fashion.  I’m embracing my London roots in this post for TwirlySkirts, even though in my heart I feel my personal style has a better fit with New York.

I love this dress.  I call it my Dorothy Dress as it has the feel of The Wizard of Oz to it. I bought it from a flea market!  Right now it is perfect for summer; fun and flirty – it doesn’t conform to a trend and I think this is true of Londoners in general.  London fashion is all about imagination and fantasy: remember Alexander McQueen sending corsets with spikes down the runway?  And Gareth Pugh’s PVC capes? London style is cheeky and fun.  Run with it 🙂

You can read about StyleOnTheCouch’s adventures in NYC on her personal style blog here.  She is also on Twitter and Facebook.

Tagged: ,

§ 10 Responses to A Little Brit of Fashion Eccentricity: London Style.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading A Little Brit of Fashion Eccentricity: London Style. at Twirly Skirts.

meta

