Playing Fashion Police

March 1, 2011 § 1 Comment

After arriving back from my trip to Northern California Sunday night, I did not get sufficient time to form my post on the Oscar fashion. Just when you are alllllmost fashion-ed out from all the recaps, I am squeezing in mine for your viewing and reading pleasure. I definitely had some let downs, but more importantly I was awed by the gorgeous couture and stunning hair and make-up. My favorites all had the same theme: glimmer, sparkle and shine! I love when stars are almost twinkling on the red carpet – it makes them seem larger than life. Here are my top picks:

Gwyneth always look chic, clean and effortless. I love the metallic look on her because it always brings out the glow in her complexion.

Gwyneth Paltrow in Calvin Klein, Louis Vuitton jewels

Celine is one of my favorite celebrities of all time. She never fails to come across as elegant and regal. This dress with the accented shoulder pads is very figure flattering…. did she really just have babies?!?

Celine Dion in Armani Privé with Bulgari jewels

I was pleasantly surprised that Hailee dressed her age. I love when young actresses take the opportunity to wear things now, like this adorable Marchesa, that would look ridiculous on an older actress.

Hailee Steinfeld in Marchesa with Salvatore Ferragamo shoes and clutch

Helen is almost always stunning on the red carpet. She always dresses her figure better than most actresses less than half her age. This is no exception and I look forward to seeing her on every red carpet.

Helen Mirren in Vivienne Westwood with Cartier jewels

Honorable mentions:

Halle Berry in Marchesa with Neil Lane jewels

Amy Adams in L'Wren Scott with Cartier jewels

Bring in the HANDCUFFS:

Nicole, Nicole, Nicole. I think Joe Zee said it best on twitter, “Nicole Kidman is giving me Jessica McClintock circa 1996”. Yikes.

Nicole Kidman in Dior Haute Couture

Marisa – what is up with your hair? It looks so messy and does not complement the dress. The dress itself is edging on witchy.

Marisa Tomei in vintage Charles James from Lily et Cie couture with Van Cleef & Arpels jewels

Why can’t Helena ever wear something normal, or do her hair in a modern way? The costumey look is getting old!

Helena Bonham Carter in Colleen Atwood with Solange Azagury-Partridge jewels

*All photos from style.com

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

§ One Response to Playing Fashion Police

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Playing Fashion Police at Twirly Skirts.

meta

